Home > sheepology > Sheepology Sprint

Sheepology Sprint

My employer, 5Q Communications, is very generous.  Normally we get to use 1 hour out of our regular work time for learning something of our choice that will benefit the company. This quarter all full-time employees were given 8 hours of extra learning time as a reward for meeting our company-wide goal for milestones.

I have chosen and been approved to use my 8 hours in one lump to work on adding some new features to my open-source project Sheepology. Since the goal here is to learn something, I plan to add features using technologies I haven’t used and don’t know yet.

Since this is a sprint I’ll create a list of things I want to do that is longer than what I have time for and work through the list till I run out of time. I want to have my projects planned well in advance so I won’t waste my 8rs. I also need to import some membership data before the sprint.  On my list are the following.

  • Donations using Google Checkout, Paypal, or similar
  • Integration with Google Apps including things like single-sign-on, contact synchronization, menu integration, etc.
  • Integration with Facebook using Facebook Connect or something similar
  • producing printable reports using something like Geraldo Reports
  • inter-parish/diocesan communication via AMQP (see qpid or rabbitmq)

That should be quite a bit more than I can do in 8rs.

Categories: sheepology
  1. May 8, 2010 at 5:11 am

    Praise God for people like Brian Glass. Man you don’t know how much I searched for a opensource ChMs with a clean and professional interface…

    I will be the first to give “Sheepology” a try…

  2. May 8, 2010 at 7:07 am

    Yohan,

    Just be warned, this package is still in development and in an alpha state. Installation procedures and other stuff have not yet been documented.

    Unless you are a Django/Python person, you will have a hard time getting it up and running.

  1. May 7, 2010 at 5:34 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

